She's just so beautiful...

She's just so beautiful...

One simple (and maybe) unknown fact about me is: I love Teresa Teng (Teng Li Cin) so much!

I don’t care if this little truth makes all of you think that I am so old-fashioned, just like some of my friends said (‘Your music taste is just like my grandmother’s,’ they commented). I just think she’s so beautiful, charming, and her voice is so clear and calming.

I started listen to Teng’s songs since I was a little girl. My grandma and her sisters, my mother, they all love Teresa Teng. Her first song that became my favorite (and still my favorite among all of her songs) is ‘Ye Liang Tai Piauw Wo Ti Sin’, Moon Represents My Heart. This song was a wedding anthem; I heard it sung in almost every wedding party I attended. Nowadays, it’s not commonly chanted again in wedding party, I feel so sorry about it. It’s really a romantic song and very perfect for a wedding anthem. Even Kenny G. played the instrumental version of this song in his album (I’m In The Mood of Love: The Most Romantic Melodies of All Time). If you know the meaning of the lyric, just like I do, you will agree that ‘Moon Represents My Heart’ is a passionate love song.

Besides ‘Moon Represents My Heart’, I also like ‘Tian Mi Mi’ (Sweet as Honey) and ‘Cai Cien Wo Ti Ai Ren’ (Good bye My Love). Tian Mi Mi is a song about dé javu, how one’s laugh reminds the singer about someone she once saw in her dream. And as far as I know, it was a modification of Indonesian’s folk song, Dayung Sampan. Great isn’t it? There are so many Indonesian’s songs that copycat the melody of foreign songs, but actually, our folk song once inspired such great Taiwanese artist. We must be proud of this fact.

Moon Represents My Heart - The Lyric

Moon Represents My Heart - The Lyric

One good thing about my madness to Teresa Teng is, I learn Chinese language from her songs. Because I like the songs so much, I was eager to know the meaning. My mom can easily translate it for me, because Teng sang slowly (different from Jay Chou, my mom doesn’t even understand a word, lol).

It’s very pathetic that a one-in-a-million Chinese singer like Teresa has died in a young age. I couldn’t find a Chinese singer like her again nowadays.

 

PS. Please correct me if my hanyu-pinyin-spelling is wrong. I’m not good in Chinese ;p